WISCONSIN DELLS, WI -- More than 60 contractors were recognized for commitment to world class safety at Associated Builders & Contractors (ABC) of Wisconsin's annual convention in Wisconsin Dells on February 15.  

"ABC is a leader in safety. These awards are central to the safety culture we promote with members everyday," said John Mielke, president of ABC of Wisconsin. "Acknowledging contractors who have phenomenal safety records encourages our entire industry to show a genuine commitment to safety."
ABC of WI Chair Dan Bertler, Supreme Structures, Inc. (left) and President John Mielke (right)
present the Safety Awards of Excellence to John Helfrich of Wieser Brothers General Contractor
(second from left), Keith School of Northland Electrical Services (center) and Josh Thull of JRT
Top Notch Roofs (second from right).  

Three companies received the ABC of WI Safety Award of Excellence at the Awards Luncheon for having incident rates for total OSHA Recordables and Lost Work Day Cases at least 25 percent better than their industry average. Combined with their company safety programs and past safety records, these contractors were the best in their respective categories for 2017. 

The ABC of WI Safety Award of Excellence is divided into three categories, small (under 50,000 hours), mid-size (50,001 to 200,000 hours) and large (over 200,000 hours worked).

2017 ABC of WI Safety Award of Excellence for less than 50,000 hours worked:
JRT Top Notch Roofs, Saukville, WI

2017 ABC of WI Safety Award of Excellence for more than 50,000 to 200,000 hours worked:
Northland Electrical Services LLC, New London, WI 

2017 ABC of WI Safety Award of Excellence for more than 200,000 hours worked: 
Wieser Brothers General Contractor, Inc., La Crescent, MN

The three other categories of awards presented were
  1. No Lost Time Accident for the year 2017 (entire year without a Lost Time Accident)
  2. Gold Safety Award of Honor (Lost Workday Cases and Total OSHA Recordables are equal or better than industry average per BLS)
  3. Platinum Award of Honor for Zero Recordable Accidents in 2017 (entire year without a Recordable Accident or Lost Time)

 No Lost Time Accidents Gold Safety Award of Honor   Platinum Award of Honor
(Zero Recordable Accidents)
A.C.E. Building Service, Inc.

Dakota Electric Service, Inc.

Engineered Construction, Inc.

Gerald Nell Inc.  

Gilbank Construction, Inc.

H.F.R. Electric, Inc.

H.J. Faust, Inc.

Krupp General Contractors, LLC

Miller Masonry & Concrete, Inc.

Performance Firestop

Professional Construction, Inc.

Quality Roofing, Inc.

Wenger Roofing and Sheet Metal
B&B Electric Inc.

The Boson Company, Inc.

Circle Electric Inc.

Consolidated Construction Co. Inc.

Earth, Inc.

Ellis Construction

F.J.A. Christiansen Roofing Co., Inc.

Faith Technologies, Inc.

Haas Sons, Inc.

Jakes Electric, LLC

Maly Roofing Company, Inc.

Next Electric Inc.

North American Mechanical, Inc.

Northern Electric Inc.

PDC - Electrical Contractors

Robinson Brothers Environmental

Steiner Electric, Inc.

Suburban Electrical Engineers/Contractors, Inc.

Sure-Fire, Inc.

Zignego Co., Inc.
B & Z Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Central State Electric Corporation

E & S Electric, Inc.

ESI Constructors Inc.

Elmstar Electric

Feiner Plumbing Co., Inc.

Franz Plumbing And Piping

Gentz Electric, Inc.

Hartung Electric LLC

Kuehl Electric, Inc.

Master Metals Inc.

Mechanical Systems, Inc.

Nelson Electric LLC

Pioneer Roofing, LLC

Poellinger Electric, Inc.

Quality Insulators, Inc.

RJM Construction, LLC

Richardson Electric, Inc.

Refrigeration Installation Specialists

Ross & Associates, Ltd.

Royal Construction, Inc.

Sabel Mechancial, LLC

Schmidt Electrical Construction LLC

Swederski Concrete Construction, Inc.

The Electrician, Inc.

Waukesha Roofing & Sheet Metal

W.D.S. Construction, Inc.

Wondra Construction, Inc. 

More photos of the Safety Awards Luncheon can be found here.