Pictured here, from left to right, are: Front Row – Kevin Day, Corporate Contractors, Inc.; Douglas Hill, Hill’s Wiring, Inc.; Sen. Scott Fitzgerald; Joe Daniels, Joe Daniels Construction Co.; Daniel Bertler, Supreme Structures, Inc.; Megan Decker, Mega Rentals, Inc.; Patrick Holzem, McGann Construction, Inc.; Steve Slawinski, O’Neil, Cannon, Hollman, DeJong & Laing, S.C.; Back Row – Pat McKenna, Hausmann-Johnson Insurance; Tom Altmann, Altmann Construction Co., Inc.; Greg Jones, Dave Jones, Inc.; Tyler Wilkinson, Axley Brynelson, LLP; Daniel Gotto, Total Electric Service, Inc.; Brian Welch, Bob & Dave’s Lawn & Landscaping, Inc.; Jay Zahn, R&R Insurance Services, Inc.; and Jon Venhuizen, SIA Insurance Services.

MADISON, WI – Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of Wisconsin presented Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald, R-Juneau, with the 2017 Legislator of the Year Award on Wednesday, thanking him for his leadership on pro-construction initiatives during the 2017-18 legislative session.

The award was presented by the ABC of Wisconsin Board of Directors at the association’s office in Madison.

During the 2017-18 legislative session, Fitzgerald was instrumental in securing the Legislature’s approval of three ABC of Wisconsin-backed initiatives:


  • Wisconsin Act 3, known as “Project Labor Agreement Neutrality,” which prohibits all levels of Wisconsin government from entering into union-only project labor agreements on taxpayer-funded projects.
  • Assembly Bill 508, called the “1-to-1 Ratio Bill,” eliminated the Department of Workforce Development requirements for multiple journey workers to a single apprentice and brings Wisconsin in line with ratios in other states.
  • The full repeal of Wisconsin’s prevailing wage law, which eliminated prevailing wage mandates on construction projects funded by Wisconsin taxpayers.

“ABC of Wisconsin members appreciate Sen. Fitzgerald’s commitment to pursuing policies that help create family sustaining skilled construction jobs and pathways to help fill those positions while preserving free market principles,” said John Mielke, president of ABC of Wisconsin. “We are pleased to present this award to Sen. Fitzgerald and look forward to working with him in the future to continue building Wisconsin.”