WISCONSIN DELLS, Feb. 10, 2023 — Contractors from across Wisconsin were honored for their exemplary safety performance at the Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin annual conference. For the past three decades, ABC of Wisconsin has recognized hundreds of members for their commitment to safety with the ABC of Wisconsin Chapter Safety Awards Program. “We are proud to recognize ABC members committed to high safety standards to ensure every worker goes home safe every single day,” said ABC of Wisconsin President John Mielke. “There is nothing more important on the jobsite than safety, which is why it is a strong focus.”

The safety awards are presented at a special luncheon in the midst of a full day of safety education.

The most impressive group of awards given out by ABC of Wisconsin are the Safety Awards of Excellence. These are presented to one member in each of the three categories: Small Contractor, Mid-Size Contractor and Large Contractor. These companies must have incident rates for total OSHA recordables and lost work day cases at least 25 percent better than the industry average. In addition, the winners must have a model safety program and an impressive past safety record.

Four categories of awards are:

  1. No Lost Time Accident for the year 2022
  2. Safety Award of Honor for the year 2022
  3. Award of Honor for Zero Recordable Accidents in 2022
  4. ABC of Wisconsin Awards of Excellence