ABC of Wisconsin Earns Four National Awards for Membership Success

George Nash, ABC National Chair (right), presents the Mullan Award to ABC of Wisconsin Vice-president Kelly Tourdot (left), ABC of Wisconsin Membership Director Bill Stranberg (second from left) and ABC of Wisconsin President John Mielke (second from right).

LONG BEACH, California — Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of Wisconsin received several awards for membership success in 2018 at the ABC National Convention in Long Beach last week.

First, the chapter was recognized for achieving more than 90% retention, which means more than nine in 10 members renew. Second, the chapter received an award for reaching membership growth. For the first time in the chapter’s 46-year history, membership reached 881 members. Third, the chapter earned an award for achieving its membership goal.

Perhaps most impressive, the chapter earned the Mullan Award for superior membership growth. The Mullan Award was named in honor of ABC founder and first chairman Charles Mullan. The national award is the highest honor a chapter can receive. The chapter has not received the Mullan Awards in more than two decades.

“We’re elated to earn what we call the ‘trifecta’ of membership success, including retention, growth and goal, plus the Mullan Award,” said John Mielke, president of ABC of Wisconsin. “It’s an accomplishment that is a credit to all our members and staff who are dedicated to the merit construction mission,” Mielke added.

Recommended Articles
Chapter News


1,000 Members Strong: ABC of Wisconsin Celebrates the Growth of Merit Construction
Chapter News


ABC of Wisconsin Names Two New Directors to the Association Team
Chapter News


ABC of Wisconsin Apprenticeship Scholarship