Standing up for open competition in the construction industry

Explore advocacy

Prevailing Wage/Davis-Bacon Act | PLAs | Grassroots Advocacy & Toolbox | Give


Protecting Your Rights

ABC of Wisconsin is successfully advancing free enterprise in construction by defending attacks organized by opponents of merit construction and promoting legislation important to members and the construction industry.

Legislative Advocacy


Public Policy Initiatives

Legislative Advocacy

Careers Agenda

Slowing population growth and declining labor force participation (especially in youth employment) signal a long-term workforce shortage. To maximize labor force participation, it’s essential that the K-12 system provide students with transferable employability skills also known as career readiness. Career readiness is the process of preparing students for life after school as they begin their careers. With that goal in mind, ABC of Wisconsin has developed a series of recommended policies to consider.

On Your Side

Legislative Advocacy

Professional Lobbying

Our on-staff, professional lobbyists in Madison and Washington represent the interests of merit contractors. ABC monitors every bill introduced to ensure that it will not adversely affect members. ABC’s lobbyists proactively introduce legislation, such as repealing prevailing wage, ending unfair utility and government competition and prohibiting union-only project labor agreements and provide members access to decision makers.

Legislative Advocacy

Monitoring Agency Rules

ABC monitors the activities of government agencies. From building codes, to environmental laws to labor law, the administrative rules that government bureaucracies write every day can be just as harmful to your business as any bill passed before the legislature. ABC and its members are involved with an array of industry committees and councils to keep you informed, help you avoid bureaucratic landmines and help you retrieve accurate information quickly.

Legislative Advocacy

Legislative Alerts on Important Issues

ABC doesn’t stop with the monitoring of the legislature and government agencies. The Building Influence newsletter keeps you informed on the legislative issues impacting your bottom line. ABC notifies members as quickly as possible if any law changes will affect your business. You and ABC can take appropriate action to protect your business.

Legislative Advocacy

The Merit Trifecta

The Merit Trifecta is building an environment of pro-merit and free enterprise by passing legislation on Right to Work, Project Labor Agreement Neutrality and repeal of Prevailing Wage. It has only been achieved by a handful of states. Thanks to the efforts of ABC members, all Wisconsin branches of government are more responsible stewards of taxpayer dollars and public contracts are awarded on merit, regardless of labor affiliation; a more level playing field and diverse participation in the public bidding process.

Legislative Advocacy

Lien Law Assistance

ABC has summaries and in-depth resources available to help members understand Wisconsin’s lien law and how it ensures that everyone receives proper pay for the work they do.

Legislative Advocacy

Talk to a Professional

Email John Schulze or call him at 608-244-5883 for more information on Legislative Advocacy.

Building Wisconsin Champions

“Building Wisconsin” awards are presented by Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of Wisconsin to state lawmakers in recognition of their leadership on enacted legislation that benefits the state’s construction industry.

2018 Award Recipients
  • Sen. David Craig (District 28 – Town of Vernon)
  • Sen. Alberta Darling (District 8 – River Hills)
  • Sen. Dan Feyen (District 18 – Fond du Lac)
  • Sen. Chris Kapenga (District 33 – Delafield)
  • Sen. Devin LeMahieu (District 9 – Oostburg)
  • Sen. Howard Marklein (District 17 – Spring Green)
  • Sen. Stephen Nass (District 11 – Whitewater)
  • Sen. Luther Olsen (District 14 – Ripon)
  • Sen. Duey Stroebel (District 20 – Saukville)
  • Sen. Leah Vukmir (District 5 – Brookfield)
  • Sen. Van Wanggaard (District 21 – Racine)
  • Rep. Scott Allen (District 97 – Waukesha)
  • Rep. Kathleen Bernier (District 68 – Lake Hallie)
  • Rep. Mark Born (District 39 – Beaver Dam)
  • Rep. Janel Brandtjen (District 22 – Menomonee Falls)
  • Rep. Robert Brooks (District 60 – Saukville)
  • Rep. Cindi Duchow (District 99 – Town of Delafield)
  • Rep. Mary Felzkowski (District 35 – Irma)
  • Rep. Cody Horlacher (District 33 – Mukwonago)
  • Rep. Rob Hutton (District 13 – Brookfield)
  • Rep. André Jacque (District 2 – DePere)
  • Rep. John Jagler (District 37 – Watertown)
  • Rep. Terry Katsma (District 26 – Oostburg)
  • Rep. Joel Kitchens (District 1 – Sturgeon Bay)
  • Rep. Daniel Knodl (District 24 – Germantown)
  • Rep. Dale Kooyenga (District 14 – Brookfield)
  • Rep. Scott Krug (District 72 – Nekoosa)
  • Rep. Mike Kuglitsch (District 84 – New Berlin)
  • Rep. Bob Kulp (District 69 – Stratford)
  • Rep. John Macco (District 88 – Ledgeview)
  • Rep. David Murphy (District 56 – Greenville)
  • Rep. Adam Neylon (District 98 – Pewaukee)
  • Rep. Jim Ott (District 23 – Mequon)
  • Rep. Kevin Petersen (District 40 – Waupaca)
  • Rep. Romaine Quinn (District 75 – Barron)
  • Rep. Jessie Rodriguez (District 21 – Oak Creek)
  • Rep. Mike Rohrkaste (District 55 – Neenah)
  • Rep. Joe Sanfelippo (District 15 – New Berlin)
  • Rep. Michael Schraa (District 53 – Oshkosh)
  • Rep. Ken Skowronski (District 82 – Franklin)
  • Rep. John Spiros (District 86 – Marshfield)
  • Rep. Rob Stafsholt (District 29 – New Richmond)
  • Rep. David Steffen (District 4 – Green Bay)
  • Rep. Rob Swearingen (District 34 – Rhinelander)
  • Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (District 52 – Fond du Lac)
  • Rep. Paul Tittl (District 25 – Manitowoc)
  • Rep. Ron Tusler (District 3 – Harrison)
  • Rep. Tyler Vorpagel (District 27 – Plymouth)
  • Rep. Chuck Wichgers (District 83 – Muskego)
  • Rep. Shannon Zimmerman (District 30 – River Falls)
2016 Award Recipients
  • Rep. Scott Allen (of Waukesha)
  • Rep. Tyler August (of Lake Geneva)
  • Rep. Joan Ballweg (of Markesan)
  • Rep. Mark Born (of Beaver Dam)
  • Rep. Janel Brandtjen (of Menomonee Falls)
  • Rep. Ed Brooks (of Reedsburg)
  • Rep. Robert Brooks (of Saukville)
  • Rep. Dave Craig (of Big Bend)
  • Rep. Mary Czaja (of Irma)
  • Rep. Bob Gannon (of Slinger)
  • Rep. Rob Hutton (of Brookfield)
  • Rep. Andre Jacque (of De Pere)
  • Rep. John Jagler (of Watertown)
  • Rep. Adam Jarchow (of Balsam Lake)
  • Rep. Terry Katsma (of Oostburg)
  • Rep. Joel Kitchens (of Sturgeon Bay)
  • Rep. Joel Kleefisch (of Oconomowoc)
  • Rep. Dan Knodl (of Germantown)
  • Rep. Dean Knudson (of Hudson)
  • Rep. Dale Kooyenga (of Brookfield)
  • Rep. Jesse Kremer (of Kewaskum)
  • Rep. Mike Kuglitsch (of New Berlin)
  • Rep. Bob Kulp (of Stratford)
  • Rep. Tom Larson (of Colfax)
  • Rep. John Macco (of Ledgeview)
  • Rep. Dave Murphy (of Greenville)
  • Rep. Adam Neylon (of Pewaukee)
  • Rep. Jim Ott (of Mequon)
  • Rep. Romaine Quinn (of Rice Lake)
  • Rep. Joe Sanfelippo (of New Berlin)
  • Rep. Michael Schraa (of Oshkosh)
  • Rep. Ken Skowronski (of Franklin)
  • Rep. Rob Swearigen (of Rhinelander)
  • Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (of Fond du Lac)
  • Rep. Paul Tittl (of Manitowoc)
  • Rep. Tom Weatherston (of Caledonia)
  • Sen. Chris Kapenga (of Delafield)
  • Sen. Frank Lasee (of De Pere)
  • Sen. Devin LeMahieu (of Oostburg)
  • Sen. Terry Moulton (of Chippewa Falls)
  • Sen. Steve Nass (of Whitewater)
  • Sen. Duey Stroebel (of Saukville)
  • Sen. Leah Vukmir (of Wauwatosa)
  • Sen. Van Wanggaard (of Racine)