MADISON, Apr. 2, 2021 — Contractors from across Wisconsin are being honored for their exemplary safety performance. The Safety Awards judging was held this week. For the past three decades, ABC of Wisconsin has recognized hundreds of members for their commitment to safety with the ABC of Wisconsin Chapter Safety Awards Program.

Safety Awards Logo“This is an impressive group of contractors who make safety the top priority in their operations,” ABC of Wisconsin President John Mielke said. “The members don’t do it for the awards; they do it to make sure every single worker makes it home safely each day. Regardless, it is nice to recognized these contractors for their accomplishments.”

The most impressive group of awards given out by ABC of Wisconsin are the Safety Awards of Excellence. These are presented to one member in each of the three categories: Small Contractor, Mid-Size Contractor and Large Contractor. These companies must have incident rates for total OSHA recordables and lost work day cases at least 25 percent better than the industry average. In addition, the winners must have model safety programs and impressive past safety records.

Four categories of awards are:

  1. No Lost Time Accident for the year 2020
  2. Safety Award of Honor
  3. Award of Honor for Zero Recordable Accidents in 2020
  4. ABC of Wisconsin Awards of Excellence